Skip navigation
A deep dive into the Beard Foundation semifinalists

A deep dive into this year’s James Beard Awards semifinalists

Efforts toward diversity show mixed results

The James Beard Foundation, in preparation for its annual awards to chefs and restaurateurs as well as to food-related books, designers, journalism, broadcast media and leaders, last year amended its policies and procedures in an effort to be more inclusive and transparent both in who selected the winners and who those winners would be.

Correction: March 01, 2019
This story has been updated to reflect that Sean Lilly Wilson and the team of Ann Marshall and Scott Blackwell were semifinalists last year as well.

Register to view the full article

Register to view this article

TAGS: People Owners
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.